Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

The well-known fact is that colour has a direct influence on our emotional state. Therefore, it is often argued that workplaces should be painted accordingly to the colours which can affect people state of mind and mood. In my opinion, this statement is true. In this essay I will prove my point of view and provide examples. The colour schemes of our surroundings at home or at work plays a significant role in our life. The colours have the power to affect the way we feel. Colourful places remind us about happiness and joy, cement grey, pure white or plain blue is associated with apathy, despair. Although the sunlight changes the perception of these colours. For instance, decorators are commonly suggesting to do rooms in light colours in places with large windows and a lot of open space which can easily fill with natural sunlight. The growing body of research about the impact of colour perception suggests that natural patterns and paints like grass green, woody brown, stone grey and sunset orange improve the capacity of office workers and increase the mood of hospital patients. Therefore, designers are offering to use natural materials and colours while decorating offices, such as wood, stone. However, it is impossible to use such unpractical materials in a hospital, the resolution for that case is to use bright paints for walls and green plants. Moreover, it is proved that positive emotions help to recover faster. In conclusion, I think that the colours which surround us have a great influence on our perception. While decorating offices, hospitals, places to live the colour scheme should always be taken into account