Studies have suggested that nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active or creative things?

In recent years, younger generations have preferred spending time on television programs rather than engaging in games that need a physical activity that enhances their creativity. One of the reasons for this phenomenon is that children have the freedom to spend time as they desire. Also, the infrastructures for outdoor activities are scarce. However, both parents and governments can cooperate to tackle this problem. Some parents assume if they set boundaries for the amount of time their children can stay against the screen, their offspring would be unsatisfied. For example, in my country, Canada, many caregivers find it difficult to console their kids if they do not allow them to watch TV. To tackle this issue, the caregivers should become aware of the adversities caused by binge-watching on the kids ' health. Moreover, they should learn how to handle children's tantrums and how to discipline them. If the parents do not know how to behave properly with their kids, they will not be able to resist their requests. Furthermore, many urban areas do not have adequate playgrounds, making it difficult for many children to spend time in group games. It is estimated that in my hometown Toronto, the playing areas should be doubled to be sufficient for the preschool-age population. As a result, many of the kids are forced to stay home and watch TV, although they prefer to play with their same age group. It is the governments' responsibility to construct enough infrastructure for the young generation. In conclusion, the lack of parental education and scarcity of playgrounds have caused the children to spend more time against TV screens. Both the parents and the government are responsible to solve these problems.