Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, technological devices such as surveillance cameras or mobile phones are being utilized to monitor public activities whether people are aware of that or not. While there are some pros to this type of investigation, I do believe that its drawbacks are more. On one hand, the usage of new technologies put a number of innocent people under investigation. This is the most negative consequence of modern life which put innocent people on watch-lists. By increasing the amount of coverage, governments restrict the rights of those who don’t deserve security interventions. In addition, a huge amount of expenses has been allocated for governments surveillance. Considering the high-tech equipment, labour cost, and time for collecting and analyzing data, several million dollars that comes from taxpayers’ pockets have been spent on these types of activities. While this money can be used for improving public infrastructure, they are used in the name of defence. On the other hand, monitoring people keep them safe. The goal of tracking public activities is to discover criminal activities. Using intelligence resources to monitor communications allow governments to detect any association with international terrorism. For instance, in 2021, the police of France have detected terrorism planning in Paris by observing a group of suspicious and fortunately they neutralized the attack before it took place. Moreover, this activity can provide accurate evidence of events. These technological devices can be installed in all places, including stoplights, telephone poles, ceilings of homes and public places and therefore they can record and analyze a huge amount of data. However, we should not forget that these recordings intervene in private lives. To conclude, I admit that although there are a number of advantages to being monitored without awareness, yet it has more negative consequences.