In some countries, celebrities complain about the way the media publicize their private lives. Some people say that they should accept it as part of their fame. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, the media intrusion of celebrities’ privacy is becoming more popular in some parts of the world. It is argued by some that famous people have to embrace this trend as a price for their fame. However, in my opinion, I totally disagree with this view on account of some reasons below. There are many reasons why I strongly believe that it is unjustifiable for the private lives of well-known people to be widely publicized through means of mass media. First of all, the privacy of personal information should be respected as a human right regardless of who they are. Celebrities are also humans, and they should have their own life or their own freedom. Secondly, when the private lives of influential people appear on social media, this can somehow cause some controversy among some groups of people. In fact, some anti-fans or uncivil people can unconsciously post some negative comments which make loyal fans become angry. This would be worse if those people have heated debates and intentional insulation, which leads to utter chaos in society to some extent. Some people hold an argument that the loss of privacy is an unavoidable part of becoming a famous celebrity. This is because human beings are undoubtedly a curious species, and headlines about well-known stars’ private lives can catch the attention of many viewers, making the publicity of celebrities become greater at the same time. Having said that, I still argue that the personal lives of famous people should not be published in the media due to tremendous negative effects on their mental health. To be more specific, being famous stars can be pressured and stressful since they always have to worry about others’ opinions or be careful in every action when the paparazzi can follow them at any time. For instance, many K-pop stars cannot put up with criticism of Internet users when their private lives are reported on articles, leading them to depression or even suicide. In conclusion, because of the aforementioned reasons in terms of human rights and detrimental effects on celebrities’ mental well-being in particular and society in general, I disagree with the view that famous people should accept privacy invasion as a part of their reputation.