The increased use of text messaging using mobile phones is largely to blame for the falling standards in written English, particularly among young people, many of whom are unable to construct grammatically correct sentences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With the advantages of nowadays communications through mobile phones and other social networks, it is detected a bad use of what is known as the correct written English. In short, the facility of exchanging messages made a difference in sentence´s construction, particularly among young people. In my,opinion I agree with the previous statement, there is undoubtedly a change in the way juveniles interact with each other. Not only through technological instruments but also in the way they speak personally. First of all, the new generations don´t give the same importance to literature anymore. While one can understand the other it is what matters. They actually adapt the language to a more familiar way. For example, they do shortcuts on the sentences in order to write faster knowing that the receiver will understand it anyway. Consequently, in the occasions where it is really necessary to write English correctly, they will no longer have the skills to do it well. Additionally, the automatic correction in smartphones impels us to think about whether it is right or not. Our phone does that for us. Personally, I think it is bad because instead of helping us write it, it does the contrary effect. For example, if I made a mistake spelling a word I will not gain conscience of that error. The same happens using the computer too. To summarize, although being able to reach each other 24/7 is an advantage, it is important to control it in order to keep some intellectual skills. For me, being part of the new generation is difficult. As a result, finding a balance between a more familiar communication and the correct one turns out to be a real problem nowadays.