The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of cars has rapidly increased since 1888, reaching 29 million vehicles on British roads. Because of this situation, some people argue that car ownership and usage should regulated and other modes of transportation should be prioritized. In my opinion, I agree that providing alternative means of transportation should be encouraged. However, the right to own private cars should be preserved without intervention from others. Having more options of transport can be a viable solution to the current environmental challenges. Many cars require a huge amount of energy consumption such as oil, coal, and fossil fuel, directly damaging the environment due to carbon dioxide emissions. To tackle this issue, individuals should have more sustainable choices to commute. For example, the Japanese government has invested in its transportation system. So, Japanese citizens can travel around their cities by buses, trains, or trams which are more environmentally friendly, resulting in a decrease in purchasing private cars and finally improving overall environmental concerns. Apart from offering alternative forms of transport, governments should allocate financial resources wisely in building essential infrastructure instead of imposing laws to control car usage. For instance, governments can nudge their people's behaviours by providing safe spaces and paths for cycling and walking. In many Scandinavian countries, there are many big bycicle lanes and walking paths in public areas; consequently, their residents prefer walking and cycling rather than driving. The number of private cars in these nations, eventually, dropped automatically. In conclusion, although imposing stict policies of car ownership and use might help mitigate the environmental problems, there are many other ways to tackle the issues more effectively. Governments should provide more transport options which are more sustainable and invest in public facilities that can shape individuals' behaviours. Therefore, I believe that these viable solutions can reduce the number of private cars without the intervention of personal rights.