Although the prices of fuels have greatly increased over the last decade or two, it is argued that further increases in fuel prices are the only way to reduce world consumption of fuel and lessen pressure on the world’s fuel resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

As a result of globalisation, people's demand for fossil fuels has become stronger than before. If this trend cannot be reversed, the reserves of such resources will run out in the near future. Some people argue that only continually increasing the price can mitigate such a problem. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea because this method has been proved useless in accordance with the previous experience. Instead, by changing habits and promoting renewable energy people can really solve this problem. On the one hand, the consumption of fuel cannot be reduced by raising its price. Governments have tried to increase the oil price to restrain the overall consumption for several years but, be that as it may, until today there is still no sign that the demand will decrease, and even worse, it was the other way around. In light of this fact, it is reasonable to assume that only by increasing the oil price never will the problem be solved. On the other hand, there are two methods that can really solve the issue aforementioned. One is to encourage citizens to change their habits. For example. if every driver in a city takes public transport or uses electric cars as a substitute for petrol cars for commuting, the need for oil can be greatly decreased. Another solution is to use renewable energy. With little electricity, sustainable energy such as solar power and wind power can produce a tremendous amount of power for usage, which is much more efficient than burning fossil fuels. In conclusion, it has been witnessed that increasing the oil cost in order to decrease the need cannot save its reserve. On the contrary, changing individuals' habits for reducing the dependence on fossil fuels or increasing the usage rate of renewable energy can solve the problem.