Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.’

Some people would argue that it is not a good idea for teachers to assign home study tasks to school children. Others say it is an essential part of a child’s educational development. I agree with the latter view because home study tasks help pupils achieve better exam results, which gives them a good chance at entering higher education. On the one hand, some people hold the view that too many home assignments are not beneficial and become a burden to school children. This is because pupils spend their whole day studying at school and they feel tired after returning home, then they have the added stress of finishing their homework. To illustrate this, in Japan the majority of 12 to 15-year-olds are under huge pressure to complete lots of homework. If they fail to finish their home assignments they will not be able to pass their high school entrance exams. I think that pupils ought to be given home assignments, but should not be put under this kind of pressure. On the other hand, others hold the opinion that homework plays a vital role in the development of knowledge for children. They believe this is because it helps pupils understand the topic better, which then helps them get higher grades. For example, if a pupil regularly does mathematics exercises at home they will definitely expand on their knowledge, which could not be gained from solely studying at school. I agree with this view as it improves youngsters’ chances of getting into college or tertiary education, thus benefiting their job prospects. To conclude, although homework can make school children feel exhausted, it often helps them gain better results leading to a higher level of chance to land a decent job in the future. Therefore, on balance, I feel that home tasks should be given to children but not too much