A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defense but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agreee?

This statement is not in accord with my belief, as social benefits are more important for the citizens than military forces and strategies for defence made by the states. The reason being is that individuals need a society where they are taken care of in terms of health and basic life support and that is more important than defence strategies initiated by the states as these are not often necessary. There are many people that struggle with their finances, as they have a disability and are not able to work, are severely ill, or struggle to find work for a living. It is therefore mandatory that the states cover their basic needs in terms of food, clothes, a place to stay, and that they get medical help when required. In Scandinavian countries, the states make sure their populations have a generous health system that covers medical help regardless of the individual’s income. Although social benefits are fundamental for people, some countries choose to increase money on the army, defence strategies that they claim are important to maintain safety for their inhabitants. However, using the money for military purposes is expensive and often not beneficial to the citizens. For example, in China, a huge amount of the state’s resources are being spent on military purposes as they claim this is important for keeping the Chinese secure. In reality, the Chinese do not see any advantage in terms of safety by this strategy, thus for them, using money on defence is a waste. To conclude, I do not agree that the ministry should use a substantial amount of money on defence mechanisms rather than social benefits as people’s basic needs must be covered first of all and resources spend on military purposes are not always an efficient way of spending the money.