Nowadays, a lot of offices employ open-space designs instead of separate rooms for work. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There are more open-space rooms in comparison with separate rooms at offices nowadays. In my opinion, there are more disadvantages than advantages. Though the positive side is that there might be better communication between employees, I believe that you have no privacy and that you can not concentrate in these open-space rooms. The main disadvantage of the open-space rooms is that it is always noisy, because multiple employees work in one great room. For example, if workers need to make phone calls and they do it the open-space rooms, they can disrupt other colleagues from their work and this can lead to low work efficiency. Furthermore, in such rooms, workers have no privacy. For instance, everyone who sits behind or next to them, is able to see what they do on their computer. Such big rooms with others can let people feel a pressure, as they think that everyone constantly look at them. This can lead to stress. Therefore, some employees will not function properly in their work. On the other hand, supporters of these rooms where few employees work at the same time, think that it leads to an increase of better communication with their colleagues. That is because, they see each other the whole time. So, if they have a question they can immediately ask to their co-worker. In conclusion, I think the disadvantages of working all together in an open-space -room outweighs the advantage, as it can lead to: a decrease in work efficiency, having no privacy during your job and an increase in the stress level. The only advantage of the open-space rooms is there might be better communication with the co-workers.