In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather then buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

Nowadays most people choose to rent a house rather than buying one. This is mainly because it is cheap and convenient. However, renting a home has some cons, such as insufficient space and bossy landlords. This essay will elaborate further on this aspect. To begin with, firstly, renting a house is far more affordable than purchasing one. For instance, in Sri Lanka, the price of a house to buy is twice as much higher than a rented property. Secondly, it is more convenient to stay in a rented house. Whereas if we consider the working population, for example, it is easy for them to reside in a house closer to their office, compared to travelling long distances from home to the workplace on a daily basis. Therefore, renting a house is quite advantageous. On the other hand, certain problems may occur, like it is challenging to find a house that fits your expectations. Whereas some might prefer spacious houses with a garden, while it is not practical to obtain one that satisfies all these needs. In addition, sometimes, landlords can be extremely rude. For example, I stayed in a house where my house owner imposed a set of rules to be followed by all her tenants. This is, in fact, frustrating and intolerable. Hence, living in rented houses can be uncomfortable and invade our privacy. In conclusion, in my opinion, even though renting a home is an immediate solution to get a roof over your head, nevertheless, it is a wise decision to invest in a house of your own.