In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to leave large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

In last one decade, the shopping patterns of people have changed drastically. General public is becoming more and more inclined in buying the required products from supermarkets, rather than from local shops. As a consequence of this the backbone of the economy, and the overall growth of the country is being ruined. The cynical impact of the same is much more imperative than its positive development; for both the buyer and the local shopkeepers. Globalization has introduced the concept of shopping mall to all the corners of every country. To start with the first cogent argument is, if the people of the locality start buying all the commodities from malls then the local shopkeepers will face disruption of their business. Family of the small businessman will face the consequence of the same. In addition to this, the impact of the same will be reflected in society too. Not only this, in the long run this will also hamper the sustainable development of country. In continuation to the above, this is also affecting the buyers of all the scale. People who are purchasing articles from malls they are being provided many extra facilities, but those are not free of cost. General public is paying the same indirectly, as the cost of all those are already incorporated in the rate of every item. To illustrate, facilities, like air-conditioned glitzy interior along with elevator in a multi-storage shop, are being charged as an inbuilt cost of goods. Moreover, people purchasing more items than the required as all the eye-catchy items are always displayed to attract the target group. Thus people are pushing their purchasing limit to a great extent; causes excessive expenditure. In conclusion, though malls are employing many people but the dark-side of this is area of much concern. Such trend will result in destroying the occupation of grass level people. The condition of micro-economy along with overall economy will exacerbate.