It has been argued that giving gifts to friends and family should not be encouraged, because money is often wasted on things that people do not like or want. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

Many argue that presents should not be given to family and friends as it is mostly a waste of money, because sometimes it is not liked or wanted by them. I strongly oppose this statement, and in the coming essay, supportive points will be discussed. To start with, giving and receiving gifts improves the love and relationship among people. In other words, it gives immense pleasure to an individual whenever he or she receives the present. For example, on a birthday, the birthday kids feel delighted, honoured, and excited, even though the child does not know about the gifted item inside the packet, but the enthusiasm can be seen on his face, and this feeling and smile are far more valuable and precious than the actual received presents. In Addition, gifts are like an investment towards building a strong connection between family members and friends, not a waste of money. Most importantly, everyone wants a loving and peaceful life that can be built by having dear and loving people around us and gifts makes an individual emotionally happy. For instance, research has been done by Oxford University that a couple lives happy and together with each other if both husband and wife give gifts to each other on special occasions like birthday or marriage anniversary. Hence, regardless of gifts are useful or not, they add value to emotions and trust. In conclusion, Although many times presents are expensive and not in use for a person, however, it is not futile and always add a positive spice to the relationship with the person.