the use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the advance of social media, an creasing number of people all over the world rely on social networking sites to keep in touch with others that they know. While there are some positive aspects of this trend, I believe that the disadvantages derived from it outweigh the benefits which it entails. On the one hand, two clear advantages of using social media rather than meeting up face-to-face can be seen. Firstly, in the modern world, families and friends may work or study far from home. Thus, they use social networks to contact each other. To cite an example, a family gathering could be established via group calls by social media like Zoom. Furthermore, on account of sites like Facebook or Instagram, it is now possible to keep in touch with a large number of people. People are able to share photos, make small talk, exchange news via social networks. Many people, for instance, have a lot of followers on their Facebook page. On the other hand, I would argue that there is no replacement for face-to-face interaction. One reason is that social media discourage real interaction and block us from the development of social skills. Humans use all their senses in other to communicate fully such as touch and gestures. In addition, despite advances in technology, face-to-face interaction avoids some of the dangers of online. These include computer hackers and online scams, stealing personal information on networking sites. For example, if I announce on Facebook that I will be going abroad on holiday, I may return to find my house has been burgled. In conclusion, albeit the majority of people can now access the internet and social media are widely used, I consider that the drawbacks of lack of personal contact compared with face-to-face interaction and issues of privacy outweigh the advantages.