All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reasons for this, and how could it be tackled?

With the improvement of societies, people tend to live unhealthily such as having an unbalanced diet or a sedentary lifestyle. As a result of that, we are witnessing more and more people suffering from being overweight and also from medical conditions related to being overweight. Despite having an awareness of how obesity could impact negatively on their health, some people are still not changing their way of living due to a number of obstacles. In this essay, I will examine some possible causes of this phenomenon and propose some measures to diminish this issue. One of the main causes of the problem is that individuals often consume fast food or processed food. Those types of food have less nutritional value than fresh ingredients, and those are typically deep-fried. The consumption of fast food and processed food is convenient in modern life, however, it results in an unbalanced diet and increases the risk of being oversized. The solution is for the government to raise taxes for those unhealthy food products, which would encourage people to shift to healthier and fresher food such as raw vegetables and fruit. Another problem is that many people are physically inactive. That is to say, officer workers tend to have a sedentary lifestyle because they have to sit in front of the screens to complete their tasks, which could cause them to obese. In addition, children are less likely to engage in outdoor activities due to the attraction of TV channels. To tackle this issue, managers should encourage their employers to exercise by installing gym facilities within offices. This could eliminate difficulties for their workers going to the gym when those white-collar workers leave offices. Dealing with this issue involves parents, for instance, making rules of screen-time to reduce the time when children are sitting in front of the box. By doing that, children have more hours to spend on outdoor activities. To sum up, recently the number of overweight people has been increased because of an unhealthy diet and an inactive lifestyle. Although this phenomenon can have detrimental impacts on general health and also increase the risk of heart diseases, various solutions can be taken in order to diminish the potential problem of obesity such as increasing taxes for unhealthy food and facilitating exercises by the gym at offices and allowing children to watch less television.