As more and more information is available online, the role of textbooks has become obsolete. Therefore, universities should replace traditional books with digital materials. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, the accessibility of information on the internet has led many people to become less motivated using printed books, and it is believed textbooks should be replaced with technological ones. This essay will argue that the benefits of the situation outweigh the drawbacks due to the practicality and eco-friendly improvement. The main advantages of the usage of digital books for college students provide two positive sides. The first one is practicality. In other words, People are able to access books by using their mobile phones or computers that let them study at their own pace with one click away. As a result, the students are able to save their time by not going to the library to look for the book that they want to read. Moreover, this situation is beneficial to improve the quality of the environment since the use of digital platforms gives a rise to paperless. That is why the situation reduces the demand for wood which is the raw material for paper. For example, a 2019 study from BBC showed that the number of paper industries in Indonesia has declined by around 15% for the last 3 years. Despite the advantages, some people believe that the advancement of technology for reading gives a negative side for making eyes strained. That is because the amount of time spent on screen discourages the retina to prevent the ultraviolet used on computers. Therefore, the screen is likely to harm the eyes. However, this effect is not that valid as the eyes can be protected by using anti-radiation glasses that can be bought in glasses stores. Also, many reading technologies are equipped with a reading mode screen which reduces the ultraviolet light from directly hitting the eyes. For instance, a kindle, the state of the art device for reading that I personally always use for 5 hours per day to read, is greatly protected for my eyes because it has an ultraviolet screen. In conclusion, although some individuals argue that reading technology leads to harmful eyes, this negative impact can be tackled by the use of modern glasses and protective screens. Thus, the essay is convinced that the benefits of utilizing modern devices for gaining information in university are much superior to the drawbacks.