A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world.

Over the last few years, tourism has become one of the major contributors to the economy of several nations. The tourism industry has been growing enormously. Although the tourism industry in the modern world has been generating an abundance of revenue, there are a few drawbacks too. However, in my personal perspective, the advantages of tourism outweigh the disadvantages. Over the years, the touristry business has been expanding, contributing to the economic development and growth of countries. Moreover, the tourism industry has been creating a lot of employment opportunities for the local public. In other words, tourism boosts a country’s recession by creating many new job openings for the local people. Tourists spend money on a wide range of services such as hotels, amusement parks, transportation, food and medical services. This way, tourism yields an additional income supporting the country’s economy. Indirectly or directly, travel production boosts the travel industry and helps in the improvement of infrastructure. For instance, the tourists’ crowd results in more demand for hotels, tourist guides and many more, encouraging local businesses to employ more people to fulfil their requirements. However, tourism affects the environment and cleanliness of popular tourist places. If the tourist location is not managed properly, it can cause deleterious effects on the ecology of that place. The demand for increased accommodation can lead to the construction of more hotels. This often leads to the destruction of forests and over-exploitation of natural resources, disturbing the world’s natural ecology. To recapitulate, the tourism industry has some downsides like disastrous impacts on forests, but it does not overshadow the positive impact on the country’s economy. I believe that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.