A lot of places in the world rely on tourism as a main source of income. Unfortunately, tourism can also be a source of problems if it is not managed correctly. Describe the advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world. Do you think that the benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks?

Nowadays, lots of countries consider touristry as a main source of income; however, it can also bring a lot of problems if it is not managed in a correct way. In the modern world, the tourism industry would certainly have economic development and increasing job positions, but there will also be some drawbacks. One evident benefit is that touristry is inclined to result in economic growth. In other words, visitors tend to spend large amounts of money on accommodation, transportation, food, and souvenirs. As a result of this, a considerable number of the developing countries’ success is attributed to tourism. Another advantage worth noting is that job opportunities increase as more sightseers visit local areas. Obviously, increased demand from travellers boosts local businesses and people who live in those areas benefit from employment opportunities in its turn. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages to having the visitor trade. First of all, historical buildings can be damaged by large numbers of visitors. Apparently, the infrastructures of old buildings are not strong enough and can easily be damaged by tourists’ reckless behaviours while visiting these places. The second factor to take into consideration is that damages the environment. Having a large tourist trade can adversely affect the environment by causing pollution. For example, when people go camping, they cut off the wood and set it on fire. In conclusion, while there are significant plus points such as economic growth, there are also some downsides to having the tourist trade. However, I believe that these benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.