Some people think that cities are the best places to live. Others prefer to live in a rural area. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of living in the city to living in the countryside.

As some people prefer living in the cities, whereas others say that it is better in the countryside. This essay will elaborate on both of their advantages and disadvantages. According to the research of UN-Habitat, who studied the human settlements around the globe, half of the population all over the world would be living in the urban context In the future. As a matter of fact that the there are many more recognised benefits of urban settings which included high-density of economic activity, shared infrastructure and division of labour. Moreover, urbanization shows a strong correlation with income, as countries get richer, they tend to become more urbanized. However, there can also be significant inequalities within urban areas which is evidenced by the fact that across many low-to-middle income countries a high share of the urban populations live in slum households that lack access to all of the basic resources. In terms of living in the rural area, though we cannot deny the truth that the urban area tend to provide higher basic living standards, for example, electricity access is higher in the city than the rural areas in nearly all countries, but being more connected to the countryside can have a very positive impact on wellbeing which would help to improve the quality of life. Properties in rural locations can often be purchased for a lower cost. As well as the cost of living, those who are accustomed to paying city-centre prices will soon find that their salary stretches that bit further out in the countryside, with amenities, groceries and nights out costing less. Not only are rural neighbourhoods quieter and more picturesque, but they’re also known for being safer, with less crime, pollution, litter and traffic. In conclusion, living in any part has both benefits and drawbacks. Rural and urban living have always held varying levels of appeal for different types of people.