Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Some people get hold of the idea that physical capability is the major determinant of athletic achievement because engagement in many sports requires muscular power. Others, however, believe that mental abilities, which motivate the athletes to do rigorous practises, are the main predictor of success in this group. In my opinion, mental strength is more important than physical power. It is clear that successful athletes have enormous physical power, which they use to win in competitions. For example, all the winners of the gold medals of the marathon in the Olympic Games, have the physical ability to run for hours without getting tired, which enables them to complete the 10 kilometres distance of the match. However, although most of these runners are able to get to the finish line, only the ones whose muscles are trained to better tolerate the tension and remain functional to the finish line can win. This muscular power, which can be achieved by rigorous exercise, is necessary to win in such games. However, doing vigorous exercise to rise muscular abilities, require persistence and motivation, which in turn need mental power. Those who stay motivated despite the hardships of professional training will be more ready to perform during athletic events. For instance, in the autobiography of Silaci, the marathon runner who has won four Olympic gold medals, he explains how he managed to force himself to run 30 kilometres a day during all the year and despite any weather conditions to stay ready for competitions. This illustrates how his persistence has directed him to win multiple competitions. In conclusion, although success in sports requires physical strength, it is the mental power that enables an athlete to practise enough to gain it.