Illiteracy continues to be a concern for many countries in the world today. What are the causes of illiteracy in the modern world, and what effects does it have on the people concerned and on society as a whole?

In Mongolia, 98% of all adults are literate but, Illiteracy continues to be a concern for countryside areas. There seem to be two main causes and three effects, which we will discuss here. Possibly the main cause is to be far away from cities which has electricity, transport and modern needs. Another well-known cause is having parents who are illiterate. For instance, Herder families do not give a lot of concern on their children’s education hence causing the rise of illiteracy levels. The effects of this problem on young generation can be quite serious. Firstly, Illiteracy results in increased dependency ratios. Since illiterate young people end up becoming jobless or no enough choice to do another job, they rely on the financial support of their family and keep continue what their family do. A further widely-observed impact is people in the society become illiterate, it results into generational illiteracy. Finally, Illiteracy causes an increase in poverty levels. This is because people with little or no education end up getting low paying jobs. Overall, having illiterate parents and living rural areas seem to be the main causes, and they affect into generational illiteracy, hence an increase in poverty levels of people.