Some people think that it is important to use leisure time for activities that improve the mind, such as reading and doing word puzzles. Other people feel that it is important to rest the mind during leisure time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the 21st century, human life became more complex and materialistic in nature whereby people always seek for new ways of leisure. For instance, some people supported that entertainment programs boosted people's innovations but others conducted that it will curtail humans peaceful existence. In this essay,I will explain both views with relevant examples. To begin, most of the creative discoveries and theories are the results of leisure activities because it mobiles people's way of thinking around the world.To support this,Newton's theory of gravity and Alexander Fleming discovery of penicillin are the findings during their free time.Apparently, a person's professional development and energetic performance need more mental relaxation because their powerful holidays accelerate self-confidence and self-realisation. Moreover, psychological interventions during break time enhance employees physical strength, optimistic attitude, tolerance and acceptance of other people. To illustrate this, in Norway government only allowed 8 hours of work for their citizen and rest of the time they are free of work Resultantly, it reduced 65% of national crime rates and this provision made Norway the world happiest country in the world. However, there are many disadvantages related to the practice of leisure activities. Firstly, nowadays people are busy with their life busy whereby using technology for entertainment deprived their self-development. For example, According to the American psychological association 68% of youngsters face sleep deprivation because of their overuse of mobile phones for their relaxation. Secondly, there is a growing tendency of competition and cheating between people even in their happy moments like using online gambling and playing video games. Reportedly, all these means of programs generate financial theft, suicide and exploitation among common people. Thirdly, violence is a deteriorated factor for modern entertainment because incidents like gang rap, sex traffic and physical abuse are mostly reported during entertainment programs. In conclusion, there is a saying 'a bird without wings' similarly every human being need happiness and a peaceful mind. Therefore, I strongly recommend people's involvement in extracurricular activities but everybody should make sure that their performance always uphold human values and social respect.