The only way to improve road safety is to give much stricter punishments on driving offenses. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The number of car accidents has greatly increased over recent years. For this reason, some suggest that having stricter rules as well as serious punishments could help reduce such problems. I, therefore, partly agree with the statement in the view of the fact that there are additional ways to enhance road safety which I will illustrate in this essay. To commence with, it is obvious that people are fear being punished by law because it leads to many consequences. One good example is getting tickets or police records could affect or decrease their credibility. Furthermore, having a strict penalty tends to be an uncomplicated way to control people in society. In other words, countries that have a very firm law, such as Japan and Singapore, are likely to have low rates of road accidents. Additionally, I believe that this problem could be solved on a deeper level because this is in everyone's hands. Therefore, Encouragement of social responsibility could help lower down road accident rates. For instance, the government should put this topic into a school lesson in order to prepare a well-educated population for the future. Moreover, the authority should upgrade the process of driver's license tests. For example, making the test harder than before both driving skills and ethical parts in order to require more effort of people who want to pass the test. For this reason, that might help to classify only individuals who are qualified to drive. In conclusion, to improve road safety and reduce road accidents, it is not only stricter the rules and punishments but also, encourage people of social responsibility and ethic.