Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel to work. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages ?

It is commonly preferred for young individuals to decide to pospone their entrance to collage for a one year period, in order of them to have time to work or travel abroad. This can have both positive and negative consequences. However, I believe its pros outweigh its cons. During school, students may not have the enough time to gain practical experiences. Therefore, some pupils may decide to have a year gap to work in different fields. This is known to widen their horizons and improve their social skills particularly if they had the chance to work in their field of interset. For instance, it is preferred for hiring companies to choose a candidate who was exposed to real life experiences other than academical knowledge only. Furthermore, earning money at a young age, would allow them to support themselves financially. As a result, this can help them to have a better indepentent life. Moreover, most juveniles did not had a chance to enjoy their time during their educational period. Hence, spending a year travelling abroad, practicing sports, or relaxing is important for their mental health. On the contrary, this may have some disadvantages on their lives. To begin with, it is undeniable that these students will graduate at an older age, in comparison with their peers. This year gap,unless used properly, can negatively affect their C.V. when applying for a competitive job in the future. Secondely, students at this young age commonly can not afford the expensive prices of travelling. As, parents are usually their financial supporters, this may increase the burden on them. For example, this gap year expenses may tremendously exceed what a regular educational year at their school or university may cost. In conclusion, pupils having a one year off before going to college,either to work or travel, can have merits and demerits. In my opinion its advantages outweigh the disadvantages, as it may increase their practical experience, improve their mental health and allow them to reach monetary independence. In contrast, it may delay their graduation and increase the financial burden on their parents.