The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Fossil fuels have sustained growth and development for centuries. However, the excessive exploitation and use of fossil fuels has caused severe atmospheric pollution. Also, the distribution of these resources is inequitable and hence there has been a concerted effort to find economical alternatives to these fuels. I fully support this endeavour and in the following paragraphs, I will furnish my arguments. Petrol, diesel and other petrochemicals have been the cornerstone of modern progress and commerce. Transportation was revolutionized by the gas-based automobile which allowed people and goods to travel in time and quantity. It also helped uplift many lives. For example, kerosene stoves replaced the messy coal-fired stoves and freed many housewives from pollution. One major area of concern regarding petrochemicals is that these are available with only a few countries, and all others are dependent on the goodwill of these few. However, the residues of these petrochemicals contain high levels of toxic substances like carbon monoxide, tar, sulfur dioxide etc. which causes health problems like pneumonia and asthma and creates the 'Ozone Hole' in the upper atmosphere. Hence efforts have been on to produce safer alternatives. The primary alternative to fossil fuels has been the rechargeable lithium battery and its most famous example is the Tesla car. Also, other than powering vehicles, these batteries are now replacing generator sets too. The next candidate to replace petroleum is 'biofuel', which is essentially plant-derived ethanol. Its use is increasing on a regular basis. Famously, it was used to power a transatlantic Virgin airways flight. In a nutshell, there is an intense international effort to find substitutes for petrol and diesel and I fully support this initiative. I foresee the widespread use of rechargeable batteries and biofuel.