Some people think that managers alone should make decisions in the company, while others think that employees should be involved in the decision-making process too. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people believe that decisions should be only taken by the leaders while others argue that managers should involve their team in the decision-making process. In my opinion, I prefer the latter idea and both views will be discussed in this essay. On the one hand, decisions without staff members tends to be less time-consuming. To be more specific, managers might fear that they will slow work down if they involve teams in every decision. Therefore, by making the decision alone, the leader will certainly reduce the risk of ineffective work which results in the loss of business opportunities. For example, the director who decided to purchase raw materials for stock in mass with low cost at the right time, before the market witnessed a rise in the price of its material, would derive significant benefits for the company. On the other hand, it is necessary to include workers in the decision-making process. By involving others in the process, the company creates an opportunity for colleagues to share ideas, learn from each other, and work toward a common goal. Therefore, the individuals would feel that the company trusts and value their opinion, which builds employee engagement. Moreover, the more diverse the thoughts and opinions are around the table, the more innovative your solutions will be. It is common fact that while managers and owners often take a higher-level view of the organization, employees who are in the trenches speaking with customers on a day-to-day basis have an intuitive understanding of some operational inefficiencies that management may have overlooked. In conclusion, although decisions made by a single individual can benefit for a company, it will be better if there is an involvement of members in the company.