Nowadays, some parents put a lot of pressure on their children. Why do parents do this? Is this a positive or negative development for the children?

Recently, it is said that children are more likely to get more pressure from their parents. It is believed that there are several compelling reasons to explain this problem, while I am of the opinion that this development could exert negative effects on the youngsters. In my point of view, every father/mother has a desire that their offspring would get achievements in the future such as working in a large company, earning much money, living in good conditions and so on. Learning hard from a young age is probably believed to give them a chance to obtain the target. Therefore, the parents usually push and supervise the children ’s schooling strictly. Another reason is that life is becoming more and more competitive, and those who could be better and more agile might take more opportunities to win. Living under high pressure is likely a good way for youngsters to adapt. In spite of aforementioned reasonable rationales, I think that this development has various negative effects on the children. Firstly, the youngsters who are put under pressure early for a long time would be stressed, which could result in severe development. For example, some children become criminals, and someone could be crazy and try to kill themselves. Secondly, when the youngsters concentrate on learning they would skip other activities. As a result, they could not grow comprehensively, lacking necessary social skills. In conclusion, while some parents have some compelling reason to put a host of pressure on their offspring, I still hold my view that this problem could badly affect the children.