Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Alot of old buildings are protected by law and authority because they play an important role in a nation’s rich history. However, it is thought by some individuals that old complexes, structures and buildings should be demolished to make space for people's living spaces and working place to show dominance of necessity over history. It is clear that protecting old buildings and structures have impacts and effects on the way of modern advancements and progress and should be underestimated. First of all, old buildings and structures play an important role in many countries as they protect the country’s cultural heritage as well as it’s untold tales from the past. For instance, a lot of bunkers and prisons from the Vietnam War was either demolished or reconstructed after the war lost many of its main features and historical values. Therefore we need to preserve our histories and cultures through the use of preserving old buildings and man-made structures. These historic buildings do not slow down or weaken advancement of any kind because it has it’s own role to play in modern society because the large amount of progress from each individual’s country mainly depends on old relics to show how far they have advanced and how long it took them. For example, the Long Bien bridge located in Hanoi that was constructed from 1898 to 1902 have gone through 2 separate wars that have cause it to lost Change the form of the verb lose show examples many of it’s parts and almost causing it to break down, it was later rebuilt from around the 1960s and it’s still in use today for transportation purposes as well as a tourist attraction. From that, we can conclude that history contributed a lot of factors to progress and not hindering or slowing it down. In summary, although replacing old buildings with new ones can be beneficial to nation’s around the world but i stil think it’s more important to preserve these old buildings to show our new generations about how our country used to look like in the past as well as show them the untold tales about it in the past.