An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers are leaving their poor countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

Talented professionals are migrating from poor countries to developed countries in search of greener pastures, and what was a trickle before is now a torrent. Well, even developed countries have faced this issue, and they have come up with novel strategies like student exchange to stem the tide. In the following paragraphs, I will examine the issues and provide my suggestions. At the outset, a nation spends a lot on educating an engineer or a doctor, especially if they are educated in public-funded universities. The expectation then is that these trained specialists will join nation-building efforts and serve the nation. However, many of these youngsters are ambitious and aspire to settle abroad for better prospects and also to earn prestige among their peers and families. The developed countries, which are perenially short on manpower, readily absorb these individuals much to the consternation of the poor countries. To that effect, the candidates point to their civil liberties and the lack of challenging assignments back home. Ultimately, the poorer nations lose both talents as well as time and money. So, what could be a solution to this crisis? Firstly, academic training must be linked to the needs of local industry. Much of the syllabus for professional education in developing countries is copied from western systems which are locally irrelevant. Secondly, a cooling period should be instituted before a fresh graduate can apply for jobs abroad. Thirdly, enough student exchange and training programs should be instituted so that local students can regularly visit abroad for short durations to upgrade their knowledge and lastly, the governments should focus on vocational education rather than waste funds on university education. In conclusion, governments of developing countries should promote need-based universal education and partner the local industry in developing an industry-specific syllabus. In addition, they should take the help of social reformers to develop the values of nation-building amongst the youth. Thus, with concerted, efforts success will be achieved.