Today family members eat fewer meals together. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In the present, with the advance of globalization and technology, people have become increasingly busy with plenty of activities and because of this, they tend to have fewer meals with their families in comparison with the past. Although some families strive to change this situation, this habit has become popular in our society. First and foremost, one of the main reasons for this current situation is the presence of hectic schedules presented in our fast-paced world. A part of society works in a double workload resulting in a scarcity of time. Moreover, most students have extra activities of the regular period at school and because of this the moments with family to have lunch is reduced. For instance, according to international research published by Harvard University, in the last ten years, 70% of traditional families do not have at least a meal with all members. Secondly, it is noticeable that the preparation of meals requires sufficient time, therefore, most families would rather spend this time with other activities more pleasurable instead of cooking. Take a survey carried out by The New York as an example where 60% of people prefer to spend their leisure time in outdoor activities, 30% of them demonstrated interest in watching movies or reading books and only 10% would rather appreciate cooking. Finally, this current trend demonstrates to be negative progress since this way individuals have been alone, without companionship which can lead to mental health disorders. Furthermore, the lack of contact with family members may promote a weak bond among individuals. For example, since the outbreak of coronavirus, the number of depression and anxiety due to lack of contact rises 45%. In addition, an ordinary meal with family may be a great opportunity so as to establish healthy relationships. In conclusion, nowadays many individuals have more likelihood to have meals alone due to the overwhelming of work and absence of leisure time, however, it is healthy and recommended the presence of relatives, siblings, and friends in our life in order to boost our self-esteem and also to build better humans.