Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Because they are part of a country's history, many historic structures are legally protected. Some people, however, believe that existing buildings should be demolished to make space for new ones since people require homes and workplaces. I personally think that preserving historical buildings is important because of the value of them and old buildings are also part of the culture of the city. On the one hand, preserving some historical buildings is crucial since they have so much historical values. Buildings with historical profit like that is a witness of many events that have happened throughout the building’s life. For example, the Temple of Literature in Ha Noi, Vietnam is a historical structure that was built in the year 1070 which was a school for the greatest students. Now, it is conserved and known as one of the greatest structures in Vietnam. As the society is developing, cities are also improving with high-rise buildings, modern constructions. Preserving old buildings can also be maintaining the country’s culture which is important. Thus, the government encourages us to preserve historical structures as it is part of the nation’s culture. Moreover, along with the fast developing society and sky-high buildings, the mix of the old culture and modern civilization can be unique as people nowadays often look for distinction. To be more exact, old historical buildings that have great chronicled values nowadays can be attractive to tourists. In conclusion, there is no question that preserving historic structures is critical. However, I do not feel that a minor modification will be detrimental. We must examine environmental changes and figure out how to adapt while maintaining the traces of our past.