Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people need houses and offices. How important is it to maintain old buildings? Should history stand in the way of progress?

Because of their historical significance, antique constructions are protected by the government in order to preserve their structural and cultural qualities. Nonetheless, some say that repurposing existing buildings to make room for new infrastructures is more in line with societal evolution. Despite the necessity of preserving historic structures, I believe that history should not stand in the way of progress. To begin with, while it is widely recognized that preserving historic structures is important, the necessity to establish new locations for citizens outweighs that protection. In particular, the government focuses on conserving a large number of historical moments originating from old structures for educational purposes for the younger generation. Sanno Shrine gate, for example, was badly damaged after the United States launched a nuclear strike on Japan during World War II, but it is kept maintained by the Japanese government to increase public awareness regarding wars. However, maintaining the safety of old structures requires a significant amount of time and money from the government. As a result, the only area of significance should be conserved. On the other side, as medical and educational advancements advance, the population grows rapidly, resulting in an increase in the demand for more housing and working places. In particular, due to the rapid increase in population density in cities, housing issues are always the first to gain attention. Regardless of the benefits, it is necessary to demolish old structures to create way for newer ones. As a result, the best things for human progress should take precedence over historical events. To summarize, it is evident that preserving old structures and architectural is not only important but also required for each country's tourism sector. However, the government should only protect the most vital areas in order to free up space for other parts to thrive.