With growing numbers of people convicted of crimes, prisons are getting full. People are beginning to call for the use of more alternative forms of punishment that do not involve a prison sentence for non-violent crimes. What are the advantages and disadvantages of such a system?

As the number of criminals who are in prisons is rising, prisons are becoming overcrowded. Therefore, there is a requirement for other sorts of penalties such as community service for offences that did not involve violence. This essay explains the benefits and drawbacks of such an approach. With regards to the benefits of the use alternatives to incarceration, cleaning up the local area will result in people benefiting from the criminals. This leads to a reduction in the amount of government expenditure for the management of prisons. Working at facilities for the handicapped is another example that will encourage criminals to be kind to people in need. This will encourage the criminals to foster their kindly hearts. As for the drawbacks, not incarcerating them may not deter the criminals from committing crimes. This is because one of the most important roles of punishment is to discourage criminals from committing crimes. Non-prison punishments such as cleaning up or volunteer work may be too light to keep the criminals from committing crimes. In addition, such kinds of punishments may lead ordinary people to feel scared of the criminals being near them. In conclusion, there are both positive and negative aspects of using alternative punishments. On balance, I think the advantages will overweigh the disadvantages. This is because I believe that saving the national budget will alleviate the amount of tax the people must pay and that encouraging the criminals to contribute to the societies will lead to more happiness for people in the community.