Many people believe that social networking sites ( such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extend do you agree?

It is believed by a number of individuals that, social interaction platforms like Facebook has detrimental effects to individuals as well as society. While it is true that these sites can negatively affect the societies, I believe that they are beneficial to individuals. On the one hand, individuals tend to benefit from these social sites. Firstly, they can easily connect with their long lost friends as well as communicate with family members near and far. Secondly, individuals can find people they have not seen or heard from in a long time. To examplify, at a click of a button someone can find people or activities related to their search and can share pictures, videos, call or directly message friends and family. On the other hand, while it may be beneficial to individuals, using social networking platforms can negatively affect societies. Since the gadgets used for these socializing applications are not shared, this means that everyone will be glued to their gadget more thereby not giving chance for interaction with those around them. Societies nolonger have time to meet physically to play or learn from one another as there is more reliance on socializing and playing games on these sites. To conclude, the use of social interaction platforms are beneficial to individuals and not helpful for societies and communities.