Some older people struggle with the use of modern electronic technology such as smartphone and computers. Write the cause and propose the solution.

Technology keeps advancing through time and innovations as smartphones and computers are now very common in our society. However, some elderly people have some difficulties using these technologies. This essay will explore the cause and a possible solution for this problem. Of all the various motives which lead the old community away from using smartphones and computers, one is the ability to learn new skills, as it is much easier to learn a new task or learn how to use new technology when they are younger, rather than at some older age. For instance, it is possible to observe children fastly learn how to handle them, while some elderly populations have some resistance to learning them. Consequently, the latter do not learn very well, and so they do not get used to it in a daily routine. One solution to the problem could be the promotion of some courses, online or in-person, where teenagers and younger adults could teach the aged population how to benefit from the new technology, to how to take a picture and send text messages with the smartphone or how to access their bank account through the computer. These courses could be part of community service during the high-school syllabus, with also the aim to help the student with some work and teaching experience. In addition, the classes could play an important role including and integrating the society, as well as a form of distraction for the older population. In conclusion, the main reason why elderly people present some resistance and difficulty to adopt new technologies is the capacity to learn new things that they are not used to it. One way to digitally integrate them could be through some lectures and classes performed by students during high school.