Multinational companies are becoming increasingly common in developing countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Multinational corporations are becoming increasingly normal in developing nations. This essay will first suggest that creating more job opportunities is the primary benefit of multinational firms, while possible domination on the economic situation of developing countries is its main drawback. The main disadvantage of multinational companies in developing nations is its significant impact on the economy of those countries. This is to say, since developing countries suffer from a poor economy, they are highly influenced by big corporations. Multinational firms try to invest in key economic sectors of countries to take their economy under their control, which would limit the power of nations over their economy after a while. For instance, after 10 years of Hamdam, an Indian multinational company, in Iran, it started to dominate the Iranian economy, which led to a conflict of interests between the corporation and the state in terms of economic policies. However, multinational companies are considered as a significant help for developing nations in terms of creating job opportunities. In other words, those firms invest a large amount of money in order to launch different projects, something that requires hiring local people, and consequently it results in reducing the unemployment rate in developing nations. For example, since 2012 when big multinational corporations, like Zelodon, Humtes, and Sahara started their activities in Iran, the unemployment rate dropped by 5%. In conclusion, multinational companies benefit developing nations in terms of creating more job opportunities, while they, in some cases, could dominate the economy of those countries.