Scientists and technology experts seem to be more valued by modern society than musicians and artists. To what extent do you agree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

Scientists and artists are not two sides of the same coin. Rather they are on the same side. Science and technology are needed on daily basis for bodily survival. On the other hand, music and art are required for the soul. In the present day, I believe that these artists are being given the same importance in all walks of life. Until the last century, dance, music, painting and other allied branches were not considered equal to their scientific counterparts. Thus, those involved in these fields were judged to be inferior as compared to those pursuing science. But, thankfully enough, times have taken a turn for the best. For instance, new institutes that offer scholarships in the aforementioned subjects have popped up at numerous locations. These places encourage fresh school graduates to follow their passion. This has also created a cult of people who have not surrendered to the orthodox perception which advocates that scientists are the cream of the society. Secondly, artists have a greater influence on the general population. People tend to believe that they are more approachable than many other scientific authoritative figures who issue the guidelines. This factor is usually harnessed by the governments to create awareness about new diseases and their prevention. For example, the Government of India intelligently utilised the voice of Mr Amitabh Bacchan instead of caller tunes. This helped in boosting the image of vaccines in the minds of the general public. Many Instagram and Youtube influencers have also been crucial in this regard. To sum up, I would like to say that these artisans are being equally valued alongside members of the scientific community. This novel change has been brought about after the advent of the internet. Also, I believe that it was necessary to rightfully give them their due.