Nowadays many people choose to be self employed, rather than to work for a company or a organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

Free-lancing is a popular work pattern observed in the present era among many citizens. It is mainly because of inadequate job availability and stringent working hours. There are a few disadvantages of owning a business such as economic instabilities and huge financial burden. This essay will elaborate on the same in the upcoming paragraphs. Prominently, the reason for preferring self-employment over working for the industry is lack of suitable employment. In other words, many developing nations such as India, are not able to give jobs to their citizens because of economic recessions. Resultantly, citizens are choosing to open their own start-ups for their better survival. Another reason for setting own business is that people nowadays want flexible work timings so that they can spend more time with family and on leisure activities. Most of the organisations have strict rules and 8 hours working time compulsory for the employees. In addition to that, frequent leaves are not allowed. Hence, people choose to have their own set up of work where they could enjoy the time as per the need and could do hard work to earn as well. To exemplify, my neighbour Kamal, left a 9 to 5 marketing job and set up his own travel agency. One of the crucial disadvantages of self-employment is financial instability. The income generated is not stable. Moreover, it depends on various market trends. This instability may make a person suffer from huge losses during some period in a year. To illustrate, because of the lock-down last year, my sister Pinkey's garment shop was closed and she went into debt.The second disadvantage is that setting up a business requires an abundance of money. People take a bank loan to set up their own ventures and may become vulnerable to the financial crisis. For example, Mr sing, my neighbour is going through a huge financial burden as he is forced to repay the bank in the form of monthly instalments. In conclusion, the reasons like job shortage and desire for work -life balance are worth to become self-employed. However, one may suffer from stress because of bank loans and irregular income.