Some people say that advertising is extremely successful at persuading us to buy things. Other people think that advertising is so common that we no longer pay attention to it. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, in our everyday life, we are constantly subject to various forms of advertising; our favourite TV shows are interrupted by commercials and our streets are full of posters and signs. Opinions regarding this approach are still controversial, divided between those regarding it as a successful and persuading marketing technique, and those who are so used to it that have stopped paying attention to it. In the last years, advertising has become an issue of central importance within the marketing and economics field. Researchers have analyzed and gotten to know the huge impact that modern campaigns have had on the population, contributing to the spread of new trends and tendencies, among youngsters as much as adults. Results in terms of the population’s overall expenditure on a promoted product have proven its efficiency. Advertising’s sphere of influence has grown to such an extent that it has become a subject of study in most economic degrees and today, some of the greatest companies and industries have dedicated full departments and professions to this area. Advertising methods have become so common and subtle that people often do not even recognize how their preferences are being shaped. Store layouts and product placements, as an example, often become indistinguishable to our subconscious. Of course, the constant pressure exercised by advertising on people, has brought some of them to be annoyed and therefore try to avoid them as much as possible. In my opinion, while advertising is a very powerful tool, it is often misused. Too much of it, in fact, may have counterproductive results. Thus, I believe that while some companies manage to exercise a correct and resourceful use of it, others should improve their techniques in order to reach as many people as possible.