The consumption of the world’s resources is increasing at a dangerous rate. What are the causes and solutions?

Since the industrial revolution that took place in the 18th century, the consumption of natural resources has dramatically increased, leading to massive deforestation and endangering several animal species. Since fossil energy and natural resources, in general, are not infinite, humans are urged to find new alternative solutions. This essay will explain the causes of this excessive consumption and propose some solutions. The capitalist system the world has fostered years ago is undoubtedly the root of this problem, indeed countries are seeking perpetual growth and productivity, leading to continuous consumption of energy by factories and industrials. Moreover, the rapid demographic growth the world has witnessed lately pushes to more production of goods in general, exacerbating the depletion of natural resources. Furthermore, more and more cars are produced, and the transport sector is surely a part of this crisis. Luckily, there are myriad solutions available to palliate this issue. For example, renewable energies are at present a viable alternative for countries, solar farms in Morocco produce about 32% of the national needs in terms of electricity. In addition to that, governments and deputies should bend over new laws that encourage the use of eco-friendly manufacturing processes by industrials, they should also tax more the companies that create cars powered by fuel. Another example is the COP22 agreements held in Dublin 1 month ago, nations agreed to ban coal factories by 2024. To sum up, it is crystal clear that humans face a new challenge in the current years, our way of leaving has led to the depletion of resources and the vanishment of many animals. The time has come to change our lifestyle.