Information technology is changing many aspects of our lives and now dominates our home, leisure and work activities. To what extent do the benefits of information technology outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present day, with the advance of globalization, the variety of information technology has become increasingly popular and present in our society. Although some traditional people strive to keep some habits, the influence of this new trade is unstoppable. As far as I am concerned, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages since it is much more convenient, comfortable and easier to use. One of the main benefits is saving time. In other words, living in a fast-paced world requires plenty of time and due to the hectic schedule, most people use technology to help them to ameliorate their lives either shopping online or ordering food. For instance, according to research published by Harvard University, in the last five years, the number of individuals who use apps to shop online and order food increased 48% and due to the pandemic, this number doubled in the last two years. Moreover, by virtue of information technology which is the use of computers to collect and store all forms of electronic data, people tend to work from home due to the facility and mobility. Another key plus factor in relation to this topic is the possibility of expanding knowledge. In other words, using information technology individuals may not only learn different topics but also modernize skills. Take a recent survey carried out by The New York Times as an example where 63% of participants demonstrated preference in the distance learning in comparison to the traditional form since this way they could save money in relation to transport and also have a flexible schedule. Moreover, this trend is a great opportunity to broaden horizons as communication with individuals everywhere is easier. There are, however, some disadvantages such as the lack of privacy. Most adults and youngsters who use social media tend to share plenty of moments of their lives and this process may result in cybercrimes. In addition, with the high concentration of information technology the usage of robots in order to facilitate the daily routine can lead to loss of jobs in relation to some professionals. In conclusion, the usage of information technology is of paramount importance so as to help us with a variety of tasks, however, it is necessary to ponder the overuse in order to have a perfect balance. The pros are much more advantageous when compared with the cons.