Recent research has shown that media like the Internet and TV have a greater influence over people's lives than politicians. Which do you consider to be the greater influence?

Recently, a social issue related to media and politicians which brings bigger influence has been widely discussed. Some argue that politicians play a more important role in citizens. As far as technology and globalization are concerned, I strongly hold that media have a greater influence over people's lives. To begin with, with the development of technology, media have been spread over people's lives. No matter children or adults get information from various kinds of media. it would influence people's minds significantly. For instance, children who like watching violent programs may commit violent crimes. In addition, nowadays, individuals can watch many programs from other countries with different cultures. An unknown culture may attract a person strongly because people usually ignore the programs with a culture that is familiar to them. Just like my neighbour Yu Qian, who is very interested in the culture of Japan. It is undeniable that policies are enacted to discipline the lifestyles of residents. However, politicians know that they would be opposed by residents if the policies change people's lives too much. So the majority of policies just influent a small part of people or have a slight influence over our lives. For example, the Chinese government banned mining online several months ago. It just influent the miners' lives instead of most of the citizens'. On the other hand, policies lack drama so a few people will pay attention to politicians. In conclusion, media is playing a significant role in our daily life at present. they have a bigger influence over citizens' lives than politicians.