Some people think that technology is a very good study tool for young people. Others, however, believe that it is harmful for the studying process. Discuss both views and give your opinions

Technology advancement impacts most of our life, including education. Some believe that technology is beneficial to youngsters in studying, while others argue that it is detrimental to their learning. In this essay, I will discuss both views and explain why I support the latter view. Regarding the advantages of new technology in education, uses of the Internet and educational software improves the quality and efficiency of education for teenagers. For example, young people can easily find relevant information on the Internet instantly, instead of reading through lots of books searching for their studying material. An illustration is Wikipedia which is online open-source encyclopedia that let people browse for factual information. The technological breakthrough of the Internet helps young people in their learning process efficiently. However, it is equally important to take a glance at the fact that the Internet has its drawbacks when the youngsters use it in their studying. Through the Internet, teenagers can easily access entertainment digital media, such as gaming, video and social media. Since they are still in the developmental stage, their self-control ability are not fully developed. They are easily side-tracked to the entertainment media and tends to not focus on their studies. Eventually, it would detriment to their study process. In conclusion, as children are still at a developmental stage and are susceptible to digital entertainment media on the Internet and do not pay attention to their works, the uses of educational tools on the Internet should be under parental supervision, otherwise, it may affect their learning process.