All children should learn to speak a foreign language as soon as they start school. How far do you agree with this proposal? How important is it for a child to learn a foreign language?

Learning a foreign language at a young age is cognitively as easy as learning a first language. It seems to me that early childhood is the best time for language acquisition, and I will explain why. Firstly, research has found that kids have an innate ability to acquire the rules of any language - an ability that disappears by adulthood. For instance, English is nowadays the main language for business at a global level, which is why families all around the world are prioritising English as one of the best languages to learn. Furthermore, benefits of learning a language have a direct impact on a child’s academic achievement. Compared to those without an additional language, bilingual children have improved reading, writing, and math skills, and they generally score higher on standardized tests. Finally, we have to remember learning a second language boosts problem-solving, critical-thinking, and listening skills, in addition to improving memory, concentration, and the ability to multitask. Children proficient in other languages also show signs of enhanced creativity and mental flexibility. Admittedly, I agree with those who argue that enough time need to acquire and fully understand one language before introducing another one. However, early in life acquiring a second language primes the brain to learn multiple other languages, opening a world of opportunities for later on. To summarize, the importance of learning a second language has become increasingly important in young age.