The governments should give each citizen a basic income so that they have enough money to live on, even if they are unemployed. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays it's been suggested that the government should allocate money to fund unemployed individuals so they can at least make ends meet. In this, essay I will be discussing why to some extent I do agree with this notion. To begin with, The cardinal reason why the crime rate is quite high in many nations is because of unemployment and poverty. Many people tend to engage in criminal activity just to be able to support themselves and their families. A recent Harvard University study showed that the crime rate is directly correlated with unemployment. This indeed is clear evidence that governments supporting unemployed people will benefit society. Moreover, in recent years many occupations have been diminishing due to technological advancement. An article that was published in the GUARDIAN states that by 2035 almost 35% of world citizens will become unemployed. However, by only supporting these individuals financially they might become a huge burden to society, governments should provide educational programmes that will enable citizens to acquire new skills which will help them to secure a decent job. Moreover, supporting local industries and focusing more on the tourism sector will help create more job opportunities for locals and improve the country's economy. Furthermore, a major concern that comes with giving money to unemployed individuals is that it will incite millions of workers to stop working. Which may send the wrong message to younger generations. In conclusion, the conversion of universal wage is justifiable, having a basic living standard is an essential right for any human being and the government should be able to provide it. But also educating people and teaching them new skills in order to obtain and maintain a job is also important.