Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays, tracking news events and socializing with others through social media has become a norm. In my opinion, there are more advantages than disadvantages of applying technology. First of all, it is a more timely and efficient way to access news stories. Compared with old methods in terms of the traditional print, broadcast spreading on social platforms is more broadly and fast as there is no need to print out and distribute paper-based sources. Furthermore, we are living in an era that everyone can contribute to updating the incident. Therefore, the latest broadcast and updates about one social affair can be found easily on the social network. Secondly, another benefit social media can bring is to socialize with others effortlessly. The advent of technology allows people to keep in touch with their beloved ones regardless of their physical location and time. For example, although my friends and I are currently living in different countries, we can make comments or chat with each other once we see the posts or pictures from Instagram or Facebook posed by someone. What’s more, it is cost-effective and time-saving since we do not have to travel to meet up. However, there are some drawbacks of using social media to follow the reports or interact with others. First, we still need to be cautious about the trueness of the news stories. Therefore, the source of the report should be tested or proved to be true before being released. Other than that, some people who are lack self-discipline may spend all their time online and get no real business done. To conclude, the advantages of technology far more outweigh the disadvantages as the usage of social networks is properly managed.