A longer prison term as a way of punishing those who break the law is not as good as other method. To what extent do you agree or disagree

In this era of inflation,many people are involved in criminal activities to punish these law offenders longer lockup method is used. However,there are other vital approaches that can be placed instead.I strongly agree that long-term prison is not a good approach.In this essay, I will discuss how other colossal ways can be used to punish lawbreakers. To begin with,longer jail terms do not necessarily deter misconduct. Firstly,prisons are given to stop breaches,longer prisons can serve as atrocity schools where minor offenders become hardened gangsters,which defeats the purpose of rehabilitation. For example,in a survey,it is illustrated that minor criminals when spending time with habitual mafia adopt their ways of offence as a result become felons. Thus,petty convicts should not be punished for long terms. Secondly,alternative forms of punishment, such as community service or probation can be more effective in rehabilitating offenders and integrating them back into society.These measures give them a sense of self-esteem and provoke a positive attitude. For instance,countries like Norway have short lockup sentences yet low breach rates.Educational courses for convicts can reduce recidivism rates better than longer stay in jail. Therefore,better education and acceptance in society can reduce the crime rate. Furthermore,focusing on restorative justice approaches,which emphasize making amends to victims and the community can yield a positive outcome than incarceration. In addition, long-term stay is a financial burden on the state, and more capital can be spent on rehabilitation programs. To sum up,it can be concluded that in my opinion, although longer staying behind bars is necessary for some hardened mobs,following other routes of punishment is good for convicts as well as for society.