Increasing car usage in many large global cities has caused a number of problems. Some cities have proposed banning private vehicles from the city centre. To what extent do you agree?

In modern society, car usage in many large cities has been increasing and this has caused a number of problems. Therefore, some cities have agreed with the idea to prohibit private vehicles from the city centre. It is clear that this agreement will be beneficial for the environment and this trend will shape people's thoughts about the importance of protecting nature. The first aspect to point out is that this proposal will be effective in order to protect the environment. It is a fact that vehicles emit exhausted gases which cause environmental issues such as global warming. Therefore, if the number of cars was reduced in the city centre, it would solve the environmental issues that we are facing. Another important issue is that this idea could change people's thoughts in terms of preserving nature. If the government announced the reason for this proposal to the public, individuals would understand the purpose and they would try to change their actions. If the public changed their behaviours on a daily basis, it would have a great impact on nature. However, it could be suggested that the government also needs to provide the public with adequate other transport systems. There are so many companies in the city centre that people need to commute. Therefore, a frequent transport system would be required in order to let businesses run as they used to be. To conclude, banning private vehicles from the city centre could be beneficial for the environment and this would help to change individual's thoughts. However, as far as I am concerned, the onus is on the government to replace with adequate transport systems for the public in the city.