Government investment in the arts, such as music and museum, is a wast of money. Government must invest this money in public service instead. To what extend do you agree with this statement?

The spending of governments has always been a debated issue in many countries. Some individuals argued that authorities should increase their spendings on common services establishments more than investing in cultural and artistic institutions, and I totally agree with this opinion. The first reason for my position is that investing in public sectors can benefit a bigger proportion of the community than only those who are interested in arts. Because of the variety and importance of the inevitable roles that such sectors are having in enhancing the economical status of nations. For instance, the transportation and educational systems are considered important index growth factors that are used to rank cities. Therefore, I prefer spending on these services that serves numerous citizens. On the other hand, investments in museums, music and art galleries can be extremely expensive to offer something which can compete internationally. This excessive amount of money might not be retrieved easily and mostly it takes a long period of time to start gaining from such investment. For example, due to,Covid-19 most art places have been forced to lock their doors in front of their visitors. Hence, I disagree to consider it as a safe investment for the next generations. To conclude, even though arts and music can reflect a great image about the culture of cities, they cannot be compared to the basics that people needs. Therefore, governments must spend their most budget on services to serve the majority of citizens and return what they invest during a reasonable period.