The best way to solve the world’s environmental problem is to increase the price of fuel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is a tremendously controversial notion heating up a debate whether hiking the cost of gasoline is the most effective way to tackle the world’s environmental issue. I consider myself an opponent of this idea. Without a shadow of a doubt, hiking up the gas prices can not alleviate the environmental problem since this does not deter individuals from using automobiles. People’s traveling demands are ever-increasing, yet there are no reasonable alternatives for petroleum. Thereby, even if the price of gasoline climbs, individuals are obliged to invest heavily on it rather than consume less of it. In other words, the volume of toxic exhaust fumes emitting to the environment remains unswerving even with the adjustment of petrol costs, which wreaks havoc on the environment. Hanoi can be cited as an outstanding example. Notwithstanding rising fuel prices, the number of automobiles on the road has not dropped, rendering the alarming contamination of the atmosphere in Hanoi. Thus, the environmental issue can not be addressed by the growth of gas prices. Facing the world’s environmental problem, there are more potential solutions to handle this dire issue. Alternative energy which is more eco-friendly since it does not produce carbon dioxide should be applied on a mass scale to refine the environment quality. For example, by using greener substitutes such as solar, wind, tidal energy instead of fossil fuels, people would significantly reduce carbon-footprint, and this would have a positive environmental impact for our entire planet. Hence, alternative energy is a viable answer to the globally environmental issue. In conclusion, while rising fuel costs can not redress the world’s environmental crisis, there are numerous promising options to this pressing problem.